Cutty Sark
King William walk, London SE10 9HT Route Planner
The Green Guide

Useful information

Opening hours

10am-5pm (6pm in summer) - 1 Jan, 22 Apr and 31 Dec: telephone for timetable - closed 24-26 Dec

Description

Launched in 1869 from Scotland's Dumbarton shipyards, this majestic three-masted vessel was used in the China tea trade and became famous for her speed. Sold to a Portuguese company in 1895, she returned to Britain in 1922 and was eventually transformed into a nautical museum. Devastated by fire in 2007, the ship has been restored and her hull is now protected by a plexiglass "sarcophagus" which allows visitors the experience of walking directly underneath the vessel.

Localisation

  • Route from this place
  • Directions to this place
  • Route via this place
  • Nearby hotels
  • Nearby restaurants

Nearby tourist attractions

Nearby hotels

Nearby restaurants